Blagging Kick Off

29 Mar

Hello.  My name is Ian and I am a long suffering technical strategist within a large global IT services organisation.  I’ve basically been working in the Internet space for just over 10 years, cutting my teeth on Java and CORBA, getting over-exited by CBD and then rising and falling with each successive wave of change like a storm tossed, drunken sailor (or maybe like one of those people in a tedious Mexican wave that just keeps on coming despite the fact that everyone’s had enough – whey hey a new technology, doh! sit down, whey hey a new technology, doh! sit down).  Over the last 5 years I’ve been concentrating on SOA, BPM and Internet business models, latterly with great over-excitement (hey, it’s a pattern) around web 2.0, capability unbundling, SaaS, service aggregation, BPO etc. etc.  As you can see the list of areas of interest seems to expand with each wave, going kind of:

Java

Java and CORBA

Java and CORBA and J2EE

Java and J2EE and web services

Java and J2EE and web services and SOA

Java and J2EE and web services and SOA and BPM

Java and J2EE and web services and SOA and BPM and unbundling

Java and J2EE and web services and SOA and BPM and unbundling and .net

…. and on to

Java and J2EE and web services and SOA and BPM and unbundling and .net and software factories and industrialisation and virtualisation and business architecture and web 2.0 and business 2.0 and mashups and aggregation and SaaS and BPO….

I guess there’s no need to labour the point.

Anyway, I’ve been threatening to start a blog for a while now as I’ve certainly been taking heavily from the communities in these areas and wanted to start giving a little back.  As a result I’m going to start throwing my ideas and concepts down here as a way of engaging in the debate.

Why IT Blagger 3.0?  Well having to sound sensible on all of these subjects (and on the growing list of related and orthogonal concepts) sometimes makes me feel like I’m making it up as I go along (surely not).  At the same time who’s going to pay attention to something that isn’t at least 2.0?  As a result I thought I’d just cut to the chase and claim a blagging ability of 3.0 in order to demonstrate that I’m new, social and open.  That’s got to be a good thing, surely?

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Leave a Reply

